How to pick a pet bird?
December 10, 2018 8:50 AM   Subscribe

What bird would your recommend that's: 1. low maintenance; 2. friendly; and 3. quiet

I have no bird ownership experience. My spouse grew up with Budgies and Sun Conures, but hasn't had to care for a bird as an adult.

We both work full time, though between the two of us someone will work from home 1-2 days per week. We have a quiet household, with a laid back lab. I'm looking for a good "entry-level" bird for us to get. I'd appreciate any advice from the experiences of BirbFilter. Thanks!
posted by LegallyBread to Pets & Animals (17 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

I think quiet is relative when it comes to birds, as most of them do make noise. Can you clarify?
posted by ancient star at 9:03 AM on December 10, 2018 [2 favorites]

No bird fits those criteria, unless you can clarify further what kind of chatter/chirp/squawking/singing you find acceptable and how much daily maintenance, care and stimulation you are willing to provide.

But based on your question, I’d say you seem to want a fish.

I have lived with dozens of species of birds spanning several genera and families, and I just don’t think you can have all three of those traits at once, sorry.
posted by SaltySalticid at 9:15 AM on December 10, 2018 [35 favorites]

Chickens, you keep them in the back yard where it doesn't matter if they make noise.
posted by aniola at 9:19 AM on December 10, 2018 [7 favorites]

Just make sure your dog doesn't eat them.
posted by aniola at 9:19 AM on December 10, 2018 [3 favorites]