Bringing a tiny house to Canada?
December 9, 2018 2:06 PM   Subscribe

I’m considering building a tiny house trailer and bringing up to my friends’ land in BC to stay in during the summer. I’ve been trying to figure out the legalities and I could use some help thinking through this.

I live in California, and I get that I have to register it an an RV, which is fine. If I leave it in BC when I leave for the winter, would I have to pay an import tax even if I’m planning to bring it back at some point? Or does it have to enter and leave with me every time to not be considered an import? Would my US insurance cover it if it’s imported or would I have to get Canadian insurance? I’ll probably have to rent a large truck to haul it, and though I’ve taken rental cars into Canada from the US before, does it change things if I’m towing a vehicle that belongs to me?

I’m very new to the whole tiny house as an RV idea, and the amount of information is both overwhelming and unhelpful for my situation. If any of you have experience, or know of a solid website or two (or someone I could ask) that would be very helpful.

I’m sure I’m not thinking of everything anyway, so all input is appreciated. If this is a terrible idea, please let me know :)
posted by ananci to Travel & Transportation around British Columbia (6 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Best answer: I am just a person who has spent considerable time looking at what it takes to import an RV into BC, and am going off memory, so please dont trust anything i have to say without independent verification. I think a key difference here will be whether or not the “RV” is motorized or a trailer. Since youre actually saying tiny house and need a truck, I assume its a trailer-type. Import laws are much different (and easier!) for trailers vs motorized vechicles. On phone so no links, but i did find the actual government websites for this (BC specific) reasonably useful.