I want a new gmail email address. Can you help me?
December 5, 2018 12:37 PM   Subscribe

My current gmail email address is a pain to use. It was a google suggestion when I opened my gmail account many years ago and I accepted it. I wish I hadn't because giving it to people verbally is difficult. I'm ready for a new email address.

However I get confused when I "google" how to do this. Perhaps it's because the name is used as an account identifier as well as an address.

To add complexity, my financial advisor suggested I use a different email address for financial business than I do for other emails.

If you are familiar with this process, please explain it to me like I'm new to the world of Google and email. Thank you!
posted by Rad_Boy to Computers & Internet (10 answers total) 8 users marked this as a favorite

In gmail, on the top right, is your icon. Click it, choose Add Account, and create a new account from there. You can add a third one for financial transactions, as well.
posted by DarlingBri at 12:44 PM on December 5 [8 favorites]

You need to create a new account. I am not sure if you are thinking you can keep your current google account and just change the email address, but the answer to that is no, you can't. I personally have 4 google accounts and it is not too difficult to switch between them. Use a different password for each one.
posted by soelo at 12:46 PM on December 5 [6 favorites]

Do what DarlingBri said above. Just be aware that you can't have more than one account window open at the same time using the same browser. So if you want to have your accounts open simultaneously - say you like to keep your personal email and your financial docs in a different google account open all day - then use a different browser to access them. Like I usually use Safari, but use chrome to access my business gmail so I don't need to log out of one to use the other.
posted by fingersandtoes at 12:54 PM on December 5 [2 favorites]