Adding swimming to fitness routine
December 2, 2018 11:59 AM   Subscribe

I have been working out 3 mornings a week for a couple months. Currently my routine is to do a circuit of 3 sets of 12 reps on a variety of weight machines and hand weights. I have not been able to add cardio due to time and because I hate the feeling of increasing my heart rate. I would like to add swimming to my regime because it actually makes me happy, but I'm not sure how to adjust my schedule to work swimming into my routine.

Currently I work out Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays for about 45 minutes. Fridays I have a bit more time and flexibility. I think I could add a 45 minute morning workout on Thursdays, and could get another longer one in on either a Saturday or Sunday, but I do worry about over-committing and feeling like I've failed when I need to skip a day.

My fitness goals are to improve strength and endurance for general health, as well as improved energy and mental health. I am not actively trying to lose weight, and am not dieting beyond attempting to eat intuitively and mindfully. Workout regimes that focus on weight loss trigger body image issues in myself that are not helpful.

I guess my questions are: How can I maximize the benefits of my workout routine given my scheduling limitations? I can manage 3-5 workouts a week. What would be a good swim v. weights ratio? Or, are there resources I should check out to educate myself on this topic? Are there things I could do at home to build strength so I could get more swim days in at the gym?
posted by deadcrow to Health & Fitness (2 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite