Xmas gift for a 5 year old with leukemia.
November 27, 2018 9:39 PM   Subscribe

Help me find a gift for a young boy who is undergoing treatment for leukemia.

A friend’s 5 year old boy is back in the hospital due to leukemia. I know that he has a compromised immune system while he receives treatment. His parents are (thankfully) well off and able to be there every day and provide the best treatment, along with lots and lots of Legos.

I’m an artist and I thought that drawing might be good distraction but I’m not sure what a kid that age would appreciate. Looking for suggestions for some kind of drawing gift for a kid his age and in his situation.
posted by jabo to Shopping (9 answers total)

I wonder if he'd like a Paint by Sticker book? The one I linked says 5 and up. My kid loved that one and it was great for "something different" that didn't require a bundle of crayons or whatever. There are a few fancy ones that would be way too hard for his age generally.
posted by amanda at 10:32 PM on November 27, 2018 [2 favorites]

In my experience, little kids love presents which feel Extra Special - but what we adults forget in our (capitalist, hyper-materialistic culture) is that Extra Special doesn't mean fancy or expensive, it just means something with emotional meaning, especially if that is something that feels 'grown up' in some way. Often, what I appreciated most as a child was not some piece of plastic being flung at me, but a grown up who would take the time to really connect with me as a fellow human being; someone who would care enough to see me not as a different species but as a bundle of potential.