Can you make “mead” from fruit syrup?
November 18, 2018 12:43 PM   Subscribe

I have a largish amount of green plum syrup left over from making maesil-ju (Korean plum liqueur) and I’m wondering if I can ferment it into something like mead?

It doesn’t contain honey—it was made by macerating plums with white sugar for several months.
I do use it to flavor things when cooking, and in other drinks, but I have kind of a lot of it and I think a mead version might be tasty! However I’ve never tried making mead before so I’m not sure if it would work.
posted by exceptinsects to Food & Drink (9 answers total)

Yeast can turn pretty well any sugar into alcohol, so, yes, it'll ferment. I think it's called a melomel, though, not a mead. Mead bubbles like crazy, so I'd bottle it in something that can handle the pressure, like a champagne bottle, and I suspect this stuff would, too. Anyhoo, try it out and let me know - I've only ever made mead and spiced mead.
posted by Mogur at 1:20 PM on November 18, 2018 [2 favorites]

+1 to the non-choosiness of yeast! I think this would be great to try; I'm not even sure if it'd be a melomel because I don't believe there's ever been honey involved. I think it would be a strong, strong cider.

My partner makes a lot of cider (omg we have so much cider -_-), and it's always in two stages: the first stage is where it bubbles like crazy, and he always does that with a carboy and an airlock so that the gases can escape. Then, when the yeast have eaten all the sugar (or have created enough alcohol -- I think this is about 15%? -- that they can no longer survive), the bubbling stops, and you bottle it. There's a lot of washing / sanitizing (he uses StarSan) involved.

(sorry if you knew all this -- I just wanted to make sure you knew what you were getting into!)
posted by batter_my_heart at 2:04 PM on November 18, 2018 [3 favorites]