La doctora te verá ahora?
November 18, 2018 8:15 AM   Subscribe

I'm a senior medical student interested in working with underserved populations. In my current city, I've been able to do that almost entirely in English. Where I am likely to move next year for residency training, this will be almost impossible to do without speaking Spanish. How can I best use the next seven months to improve my speaking and comprehension?

I currently have no Spanish whatsoever outside some halfhearted attempts at Duolingo over the years. I studied French in school and got to a point where I could read a newspaper, but was never able to speak or comprehend comfortably -- my brain was always trying to transcribe and then translate what I heard.

I know there are classes/resources for medical Spanish, but they all require an elementary level that I do not have. I would really like to have at least basic Spanish conversational skills by the time I start residency, and I want to prioritize speaking and comprehension over reading and writing. I am willing to pay some money (not private tutor money... maybe a few hundred dollars) if it means accessing a better resource. I have read previous questions/advice suggesting things like Spanish-language podcasts and YouTube videos, but I am not at that level yet. Is Duolingo really the best approach, or just the cheapest and most accessible?
posted by telegraph to Writing & Language (10 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

Go to Mexico and take classes for cheap. I’ve done Escuela Falcon in Guanajuato and it was fabulous. Their medical Spanish classes are taught by a dentist who knows her shit. They do 2-4 hours of class per day (all you can realistically absorb- remember you’re also speaking Spanish the rest of the day) for about $500 a week
posted by genmonster at 8:29 AM on November 18, 2018 [8 favorites]