Best Practices for Cooking and Cocktails and Copyright?
November 7, 2018 10:31 AM   Subscribe

I'm a graphic designer working on a cookbook/activity book with a client/friend that I've worked with several times before, and I'm trying to figure out how copyright law may affect this project and what the best style of attribution may be.

His current piece is a self-published themed cocktail guide / recipe book that's peppered with fun facts and a few longer sections with activities (think along the lines of : "Summer Refreshments for Indoors and Out"). It sounds like he intends to sell this book online and in a few local coffee shops.

Many of the cocktails and recipes are attributed as being from historical sources like Old Mr. Boston or even older manuals from the 1800s, but many are also from modern bars and recent cocktail guides. Based on the chapter introductions in the book, the drink ingredients are the same and most of the descriptions have been rewritten, except for some 1800s/1930s recipes. Based on my cursory research, this might be okay copyright-wise, but is it deceptive to have rewritten recipe instructions mixed in with copied recipes without any differentiation between the two?

I doubt that the client has done much original work in making the cocktail recipes in real life, but the overall structure of the book does feel like a fresh collection of various things. Each recipe includes an author name or source, and there's a simple bibliography at the end. Is that enough?
posted by sometimes_a_pony to Law & Government (10 answers total)

Isn’t this between the author and their publisher (and perhaps their legal team)? Not intending any offense, I’m not sure why you are asking, being the graphic designer on the job.