Help me understand a statement about statistics, please.
October 11, 2018 6:35 AM   Subscribe

I read an article yesterday about some study results being released, and the final sentence of the piece says "Instead of a margin of error, the study has an overall confidence interval of 95%." The last statistics thing I did in life was have a panic attack and only narrowly pass a stats-for-poli-sci final in grad school 12 years ago. Can someone explain this sentence to me in a way that I would understand?
posted by mccxxiii to Grab Bag (7 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

I’m a statistician and I am not sure what they’re after, to be honest. Sounds like a mangled way of describing correcting for multiple comparisons? I am assuming this is a summary for the popular press - if you want/need to rely on the results perhaps you can get your hands on the original article.
posted by eirias at 6:40 AM on October 11 [1 favorite]

That's an odd sentence. A confidence interval is the range in which you expect a value to fall with 95% confidence (making some assumptions). So that sentence doesn't make a lot of sense because it doesn't tell you what the confidence interval IS. For example, if the study measured mean age in a university class it might have a 95% confidence interval of 22.1-23.4 . The confidence interval is distributed symettrically around the mean, so the mean age in that study would be 22.75 *and* it would be equally valid to state that "the mean was 22.75 with a margin of error +- 0.65, 19 times out of 20" which is how one normally sees these things reported.