How to not calculate a matrix twice
September 9, 2018 5:21 AM   Subscribe

ProgrammingFilter. The short version: I've realized I'll be doing twice the calculation work I need to do in an operation, and I could use a hand cutting it down. Details inside.

So I've got this pet project I've been working with on and off for a few years now, and it's actually getting past the concept stage into something that might be usable by actual humans.

In doing some of the planning, though, I realized I've hit an optimization problem. Part of what I'm doing is calculating how similar two users are based on their ratings of items (books, in this case). The actual details of the calculation aren't important, but what is is that the similarity is a symmetrical relationship. That is, User 1 being, say, 85% similar to User 2 implies that User 2 is also 85% similar to User 1.

Now, the naive version of this I did originally went something like "For each user, calculate their similarity with every other user and store it". And that works, but it scales terribly performance-wise and worse, repeats itself--i.e., when you get to user 2 in the loop, you've already calculated their similarity with user 1, so you're just duplicating work.

What I'm needing is some method of only calculating the values I haven't already done. Just off the top of my head, I'm thinking maybe some sort of "has been updated" flag column in the table I'm storing all of these relationships in, but that feels a bit...hacky. If there's a more elegant way to do it, I'm completely open to suggestions. Any ideas?
posted by Mr. Bad Example to Computers & Internet (14 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

You can generate all pairs once each by only comparing each user to the users "greater than" them by some ordering. E.g., for a given user, only compare them to users with a greater userid (assuming unique IDs exist). And when you calculate one result, store it for both users.