What kind of marketable skills should I be focusing on?
September 6, 2018 3:38 PM   Subscribe

I graduated with a degree in the liberal arts and now work part time at a bank as a customer service representative. I'm in my mid twenties and having a very hard time landing another job. I'm not sure where I should be at all. Which skills should I focus on that will make me more marketable? What resources on the internet will be able to help me? I have some experience with html and Microsoft word but not enough to make me feel that I can put it on the resume. I do not want to work in sales at all.
posted by sheepishchiffon to Work & Money (8 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

Where would you like to be?

Expert Excel skills and data analysis and data viz skills will serve you well wherever you land. See if your local public library offers Lynda.com as a free online service. HTML5 would be good, too.
posted by jgirl at 3:54 PM on September 6, 2018 [3 favorites]

Customer service is an important part of any job. Even if your 'customers' aren't the general public, you'll still have customers. Focus on listening to what your customers want, what they need, and what they ask for. Do your best to give them all three.

This is mostly a soft skill, but it can translate to your resume as well. It will certainly help you *keep* a job once you get one.
posted by hydra77 at 3:58 PM on September 6, 2018 [3 favorites]

More marketable for what?

If you're looking for a generic - what skills will lead to me to the most money job - coding is always suggested.

But more importantly, what do you want to do?
posted by k8t at 4:05 PM on September 6, 2018