Am I doing something wrong in therapy? Turning down recommendationss
September 1, 2018 7:19 PM   Subscribe

I'm new to therapy so maybe I'm not sure how things work. My first ever therapist terminated with me because I didn't follow her clinical recommendation, and now I'm turning down recommendations from my current therapist. I believe I'm acting in my best interests, but this also has me wondering if I'm doing something wrong here or if there's another approach I should be taking.

I'm new to therapy so maybe I'm not sure how things work. My first ever therapist terminated with me because I didn't follow her clinical recommendation, and now I'm turning down recommendations from my current therapist. I believe I'm acting in my best interests, but this also has me wondering if I'm doing something wrong here or if there's another approach I should be taking.
I started therapy for the first time in December, and two months ago my first ever therapist terminated with me with the reason being that I didn't follow her clinical recommendation, which was continue attending group therapy as she thought I needed more support than just her.

My current therapist is great, and she's been more willing to work with me even if I disagree with her recommendations. I should preface this by saying that I'm in no danger of her terminating with me at the moment, so I'm not looking for advice in that regard. More of how I can move forward and get the most out of therapy while also not alienating another therapist down the line. A big cause of concern with my therapists is that I have pretty heavy suicidal ideation, which is a big part of why I've gotten the recs that I have. I do feel like I've made really good progress in therapy, but my suicidal thoughts are still there and don't seem to be going away anytime soon. I also have lots of negative thoughts.