I'm jealous of a coworker in an unhealthy way. Tell me how to stop.
August 30, 2018 8:09 PM   Subscribe

I'm at my first white collar salaried job, ever. I find myself feeling jealous and angry towards a coworker for reasons I find unacceptable. I'm not used to this feeling, and don't know how to get rid of it.

I'm in my first serious salaried job. Last year, I graduated college late (I'm in my late 20s and flunked out the first time due to depression and took years to get better) and came out full time as a trans woman. I figured I wouldn't have an easy time getting hired, but managed to make it through the hiring process to my surprise. That's given me a bit of imposter syndrome. I've also tried to lean on the idea that gender dysphoria might have been the reason depression hit me so hard after puberty and sabotaged my first attempt at my career.

From experience, I know that I feel happiest and most like myself when I pass. In contexts where I've been outed or outed myself, I always feel like I'm on the periphery and that nobody takes my womanhood seriously, including myself.