How do I go about finding a mid-level job in USA? (I speak Chinese)
August 20, 2018 4:27 PM   Subscribe

I am a young woman with a college degree from China, I have a green card and I majored in English. I want to get a job (preferably that uses my Chinese skills) that pays at LEAST $20 an hour (full time). My main work experience in the USA is with a Chinese shipping company for 2 years where I made $20 an hour. How do people find jobs nowadays? All I've done so far is find companies to apply for on indeed.com Any tips or advice is welcome!
posted by maxexam to Work & Money (10 answers total)

What did you do in the shipping company? I would look for job titles that seem to align with what your role was and then submit your resume to the companies you find that have openings for those positions using Indeed, Glassdoor, or even Craigslist. Logistics analyst, logistics associate, shipping coordinator, warehouse manager, etc. If you would like the company to make use of your Chinese skills, look for Chinese companies or companies that do international work.

Have you reached out to former coworkers or job recruiters who you are on good terms with and asked about job openings? Assuming your resume is updated and polished, you should hear back and be brought in for interviews. Is the field you are looking to work in a field that cares about Linkedin? If you have a Linkedin profile, you may be able to contact or be contacted by other recruiters or temp agencies that can help you in your search.

Most people these days find jobs by means of applying online, using a recruiter, or getting recommended by someone they know.
posted by Iron Carbide at 5:13 PM on August 20, 2018 [2 favorites]

Where are you located?
posted by JamesBay at 5:13 PM on August 20, 2018

Can you take your experience from the shipping company and find another similar company who would value both your experience and your Chinese language skills? That's where I would start-- logistics.