Straw poll: what to with the next few months of my life?
July 1, 2018 4:14 AM   Subscribe

It's been a terrible 4 years and I'm burnt out. On top of a lot of other things (caregiving for people with cancer; dad dying; big breakup; lots of upheaval) I recently abruptly lost my one big client, and I'm having trouble finding new work. I'm considering handing the notice in on my expensive flat and living out of a backpack for 2/3 months, while trying to work remotely. However, I worry this will burn me out even more. I'm already panicked that I have no money coming in. Plus I've started seeing someone. I'd love help on making a decision when my brain feels tired.

I'm being incredibly indecisive. I'm burnt out after being caretaker to my (now ex-) boyfriend and dad, both with cancer; my dad died last August, then me and said boyfriend split up after a long drawn-out period in March.

I work as a consultant, which has been my anchor and a distraction (it's also kept me ridiculously busy, and I've saved up around £20k, which I had earmarked for the beginning of a house deposit). A client that was taking up all of my time recently went insolvent, leaving me with no work and no warm business leads (said client were talking to me about going permanent so I had no idea this was in the offing).

I've got about four week's worth of holidays booked in the next couple of months and I'm considering handing the notice in on my flat in London, which is £1000 a month, and living out of a backpack via cheap accomodation and couchsurfing with friends for 2/3 months. However, part of me wonders whether this will burn me out even more. I'm already pretty panicked that I have no money coming in. I could keep the apartment and still travel, but I worry about it being £2-3k down on the drain on a place I'm not using (and I couldn't sublet it out). I've worked so hard for this money, and it's the first time I've really been able to save seriously in this crazy-expensive city.