Want Advice About My House
May 15, 2018 7:57 AM   Subscribe

Hi everyone. I want to sell my house and move. It's my first time doing so. I've only had this house 2 years. I have thought about selling it myself through HelpUSell or Redfin or both. Details inside

As far as the paperwork went, I could do some of it myself with the help of a brokers and/or an attorney, I'm supposing. FWIW, I was one of the first buyers to look at this house and made a cash offer and after a bit of negotiating bought the house. It's in a desirable price range and has a nicely landscaped yard, a big master bedroom and a cathedral ceiling, among other things. It's deficits are a small kitchen and two smaller bedrooms. I'm in the middle of de-cluttering and will hire people to come and #1 do some pruning and general maintenance on the yards and #2 do some home fix-its. I plan to have the house staged too. Has anyone done something like this and have some advice for me? I'm mostly interested to hear your experiences/advice you can give me so I know what to expect along the way!
posted by DixieBaby to Home & Garden (6 answers total)

I initially listed a house in Chicago by owner. There is no downside to trying first by yourself. I hired an attorney who actually sat at the open house I had so I did not have to. Interestingly, I sold the house to someone who looked at it when it was listed by me, but who bid AFTER I had listed it with a broker and raised the price by about 15%. They paid up for some reason.

I also listed a house in NY with a broker and hired a consultant to help me declutter, to help me stage it, and to help me sell off a lot of my furniture, possessions, etc. I was very happy with the results and the experience.