Discreet things to do while working at the checkout
May 11, 2018 5:53 AM   Subscribe

I work in a store and a lot of the time I end up being the main cashier. I usually go a few minutes without any customers to ring up and I get bored. Any suggestions for what I could do? I can only do discreet things, so no book reading unfortunately. I have access to register paper and pens. I could get something else to supplement that if need be.

Bonus question: Any suggestions for making standing on my feet for 8 hours suck less? (I'm in the process of getting new supportive shoes.)
posted by starlybri to Grab Bag (35 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

I used to do crosswords (tear one out of an old newspaper or book) or learn foreign languages with surreptitious flashcards. Composing haiku works too
posted by lollusc at 6:03 AM on May 11 [3 favorites]

Zentangle or doodling. As to the standing, try to move around as much as you're able. Bend your knees, flex your ankles, stand on one foot and alternate with the other foot, slight squats, etc. Can you ask for a fatigue mat to stand on?
posted by XtineHutch at 6:08 AM on May 11 [2 favorites]

I like to anagram friends’ names.
posted by eirias at 6:08 AM on May 11

I used to fold paper cranes with register paper.
posted by quadrilaterals at 6:09 AM on May 11 [3 favorites]

About 75% of cashiers I interact with have their phones out on the counter in front of them and are playing on them in between or sometimes actually during transactions. Given that their role in most transactions amounts to just scanning a couple barcodes and pushing a couple buttons on the register in response to my pushing a couple buttons on the pin pad (not something that seems like it requires their full attention) I as a customer am totally OK with that.
posted by Anticipation Of A New Lover's Arrival, The at 6:12 AM on May 11 [1 favorite]