Accepted for a Master's degree. Now what?
April 27, 2018 6:33 PM   Subscribe

After being out of full-time study for over a decade, I now have an unconditional offer on a taught Master's degree. I'm excited, but it's come as a bit of a surprise and I'm feeling very unprepared. What can I do to get back up to speed between now and September?

I finished my undergraduate degree in 2005, and that was in a similar but different field (my bachelor's is in law, master's will be in politics/international relations) so I feel like I have some catching up to do - especially as I didn't do brilliantly in my bachelor's, academically speaking. So far I've picked up a handful of common recommended texts from other universities' undergraduate reading lists but I'm worried more about the process of studying at a postgrad level and the academic skills I've lost.

I appreciate that a lot of this is just anxiety, and that's natural, but I'd also like to make sure I'm as prepared as I need to be. Thankfully I have a reasonable amount of free time between now and starting the course in September. Any tips on where I should start?
posted by A Robot Ninja to Education (5 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

I did something similar a few years ago, and did an undergraduate course or two while I was applying to grad school, just to get my head back into it. Given the timelines, I understand that might not be possible, but could you audit a course, maybe?
posted by peppermind at 6:48 PM on April 27, 2018

Ask someone in your faculty, or graduate advisor, for a reading list of material they like their students to be familiar with as advanced background, or to whet your curiosity. Look up & peruse the faculty's publications (books, journal articles).
posted by lathrop at 6:58 PM on April 27, 2018 [2 favorites]