get a life; or, another emotional labor question
April 20, 2018 10:12 PM   Subscribe

I make my living in a job that necessitates my performing a lot of emotional labor. I am also a person who tends to take on a lot of emotional labor in my personal life. It getting exhausting and I'm responding to that exhaustion in maladaptive ways. Help me figure out how to recalibrate so that I don't lose my mind.

I am a business manager for a small business in a fairly small town in arts education field that attracts talented people who tend to have really bad boundaries. I report directly to the business owner and my role involves many things but a lot of it is customer facing. The customer facing stuff is fairly straightforward, but as of late we have a lot of regulars who have many opinions about how we should be running and growing the business. Most of this is well-intentioned and it is heartening that people find value in what we are providing and want to share their ideas for helping it thrive.