We only have four countries' bureaucracies to deal with here.
March 11, 2018 11:07 PM   Subscribe

How does a Canadian residing in Denmark get married to an American/Swedish dual citizen living in Sweden?

My partner A and I (B) are planning on getting married. A was born in the USA, but became a Swedish citizen recently. We are planning on getting married, but the logistics have proven to be more complicated than we expected, largely due to immigration factors.

In short, I am a resident of Denmark, and I have applied to be A's sambo (Swedish term for domestic partner). However, this is taking a very long time (more than a year so far), and seems to impact our ability to get married. In order for us to get married, it seems that we need to get a "Hindersprövning" from Skatteverket, i.e. prove that there are not any obstacles to getting married. But according to Migrationsverket, I would need a visa to enter Sweden in order to do this, but this is complicated because I already have an existing application with them.

One option that we have considered is to get married in Denmark anyhow, but as a Canadian and as an American, instead of as a Swede. According to https://international.kk.dk/marriedincph, we still may need the Hindersprövning anyhow.

We also could just get married in Canada or the US, but since we live here we aren't really sure how that impacts, well, anything.

Does anyone have any experience or advice to offer?
posted by anonymous to Law & Government (3 answers total)