Where can I find case studies on productivity gains from dual monitors for developers?
February 2, 2006 1:50 PM   Subscribe

I am a Java programmer working for a reasonably large (read: not-so-quick-to-get-with-the-times) organization, and I'm trying to put together a case for having a dual-monitor setup for all our developers.

I know for a fact it will be a huge productivity boost (as I've used dual monitors in the past), but I have to prove this to my manager via case studies, scientific studies, etc. that already exist on the matter.

Unfortunately, all searches on google for the topic just bring up vendor sites trying to sell their overly expensive dual monitor setups and obviously some very biased opinions on productivity gains.

I've only found one rather weak argument for "anywhere between 5-50%" on a Microsoft site but it is by no means sufficient.

Any relevant links would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
posted by PWA_BadBoy to Computers & Internet (6 answers total)

A huge discussion (at slashdot) about a study carried out by NEC-Mitsubishi, ATI, and U. of Utah.
posted by SpookyFish at 1:59 PM on February 2, 2006

Joel Spolsky discusses how important it is for programmers to have the best tools possible. He gives only short mention to dual monitors specifically, but the article may buttress your overall argument.
posted by ldenneau at 2:07 PM on February 2, 2006

When I was a developer at Microsoft in '99, just about all the developers had dual CRTs. The more hardcore developers had three monitors. This was in addition to the extra testing and email machines we usually had.

Now I'm a freelance software developer, and pay for all of my own equipment. My primary monitors are a pair of Dell 2405 FPWs that are shared between my PowerMac and my biggest x86 notebook computer. I'm considering buying two more 2405 FPWs and a stand to place them directly above the two I already have.