What's the best way to meet poly people these days?
February 17, 2018 12:14 AM   Subscribe

My girlfriend told me recently she wants to open up our relationship. I'm new to this, so I've been going through a lot of grief and excitement and general stress about it. We're five years in, and I love her and trust her completely, and I'm mostly into it, so far, but I'm worried about one practical consideration: How does one meet a new person these days, for either casual fun times or a real romantic relationship, when the situation is poly? What about meeting a couple? Does Craigslist still work, or is it a wasteland? Are there better options? Are there ways to navigate this on mainstream dating services like Tinder or OKCupid?

One wrinkle: She wants to keep this thing relatively private. "Nobody needs to know," she said about our local social circle. It makes things harder, logistically, but I understand it.

I'm new to this. I wanna learn more, because I love her. You can email to openthingok@gmail.com.
posted by anonymous to Human Relations (14 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

It's hard to be poly if you're unwilling to let partners actually be part of your life. People are unlikely to want to be your dirty little secret.

I'm not saying what your girlfriend wants (a relationship that is discreetly monogamish, sounds like) is unethical, but I am saying that if you describe it as poly you're going to wind up with misunderstandings and hurt feelings. I'd suggest y'all do your outside play outside your city, and be sure to be up front about your expectations. Make Tinder dates a few towns over, go to a swinger club, whatever, but be very up front about the circumstances. There will be a lot of rejection, but you will find people who are down (she more easily than you, sorry to say).