Musicians: they'll only break your heart
February 12, 2018 2:47 AM   Subscribe

I'm an amateur graphic artist, and I've been making some cover art for a band for free. I've made about 10 different pieces they like and want to use. Yay! But tonight, the guy texts me, "oh here is our new logo." It's totally different, not to mention ugly af, and makes the art look unbalanced. (New typeface is extra-light, old typeface was extra-bold.) Did mention it was ugly af? Sob.

I don't want to have my name on otherwise unchanged art with the new logo. I don't want to rework all the art to fit the new logo. Maybe I could talk to the guy? But how? What could I say? This is his thing -- it's up to him what image his band has, and he didn't ask me. Also I'm doing it "for exposure" so there's an informality in our relationship. (I know what you think about working for exposure, but I offered, because I'm just starting out and already have a good job.)

I just wonder if there's any way to salvage this?
You who do this for a living -- love to hear your thoughts. Thanks for any suggestions!
posted by pH Indicating Socks to Media & Arts (9 answers total)

People so undervalue the creative process and effort. My advice is the think of yourself as a brick layer. Your client came in and installed a bunch of stone and bricks overnight and it looks like crap. You still want to get paid but YOU are the professional. So delicately but plainly explain that the new logo OBJECTIVELY doesn't work and you'd be happy to help rework it.
posted by chasles at 3:36 AM on February 12 [1 favorite]

What do you have to lose by expressing your feelings about the logo? I mean, obviously you don't say 'ugly af'. Explain what the problem is - that the logo change really doesn't work with the artwork you've done for them. Ask if you could take a shot at a logo that would work better, if that's something you'd be willing to do. If they respect your design skills, they'll listen.