Strength Training Every Morning
February 6, 2018 11:50 AM   Subscribe

I'm new to strength training and have started doing it quite a bit lately. I'm wondering if it will be bad to incorporate a 30 min morning workout everyday, plus 2-3 heavier workouts per week.

I don't have to be at work until 10 so I like the idea of doing 30 min bodyweight workouts at home before going to work. So is it bad if I do this everyday without rest days? If it's only 30 min do I need rest days? I'm not getting as sore as I did when I first started doing weights, so it doesn't feel like I'm stressing muscles that are sore already, although I could be wrong. In addition to this, I usually make it to the gym about 3 times per week and do an actual session with weights (plus climbing). My goal is strength and general fitness.

Follow up question, is it better to stick w the same routine or vary it up every time? I've been using the app FitBod to give me routines, and it's different every time. I'm not sure if this is more or less efficient than saving a routine and repeating that. Appreciate any advice for beginners!
posted by monologish to Health & Fitness (9 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

You need rest days. Those are when the muscle actually builds itself. You can rotate through groups of muscles if you want to keep up a daily momentum. That's what most folks do.
posted by praemunire at 12:14 PM on February 6, 2018 [3 favorites]

Honestly, 10 workouts a week with no rest days is a lot - and 3-4 really hard, heavy sessions a week with rest will almost assuredly get you strength and general fitness and be sustainable over the long-term. The net benefit of all these other shorter, less intense workouts when you factor in losing out on rest is likely very minimal and I think you risk mentally burning out or feeling disappointed in yourself when life gets in the way.