I’m a job hopper... but is that really so bad (for me specifically)?
January 18, 2018 11:59 AM   Subscribe

I’m having a bit of a job / life crisis and would love some outside insight beyond just ranting to my husband. I am not good at office jobs and feel like I am broken. I have had two “real” office jobs, and invariably they have ended the same way: about a year in, I get frustrated, wildly bored, and start making moves to leave. Advice from any other creative types who’ve struggled with this same issue would be particularly useful!!

Looking at my post history, you can tell I’ve been a career wanderer (except for the actual post about quitting, which I posted for a friend!). But I’ve finally figured out a Thing about myself.

I’m a creative person and a bit entrepreneurial. My dream is to work as a photographer/writer. I have a successful freelance business that has, at several points, been my primary income. Those have been the times I’ve been happiest - when I can set my own schedule, work on projects that I like, ditch disagreeable clients, and have PLENTY of time to work on my creative pursuits (Yay!). I don’t LOVE all my freelancing work, but it gives me time to do what I do love and it’s way more agreeable than working as part of a corporation.

However, I am also susceptible to freelance panic. Last year, I hit a rough patch with clients and had a health scare and wanted better insurance (thanks, America). I applied for a few FT positions. In a whirlwind, a company interviewed me and offered me a job. I was super hesitant about the position - it is in a different industry with different job duties - but I’m bad at saying no under stress. (Something I’m working on!)