Does it make sense to take out a loan to study abroad?
January 17, 2018 11:04 AM   Subscribe

I studied abroad in South Korea a few years ago and loved it. Now I want to go back next fall but it seems like it will be too much for me to save up for in five months. With airfare, tuition, housing and personal expenses it'll be about $10000. I can probably save up $4000 with my current job. I was thinking about getting a second job but it might be too much as I am a full time student. I will try to find some scholarships to apply to.

The cost is so much because I'm paying out of pocket since I'm not going through my college. Last time I went I was able to afford it because my family helped me pay and I also got financial aid through the government. I was thinking about taking out a private loan. I already have 25k in student debt.
posted by starlybri to Work & Money (13 answers total)

What is your major, and how directly does studying abroad in South Korea relate to your future career plans? My personal feeling is that substantially adding to your student debt isn't worth it, considering that you already had the experience once. You could pursue other ways to live and work in South Korea if that's your passion, or push your plans back and look for scholarships and other non-loan support, or more time to save money on your own.
posted by handful of rain at 11:09 AM on January 17 [4 favorites]

Personally I would wait and look for paid opportunities abroad after you graduate. I have a lot of friends who taught English in Asia or Europe for a year or two after they graduated and loved it. It's not super lucrative, but at least you're not taking out loans and hopefully doing at least a little bit better than breaking even.