How to gracefully quit a job you just started - grad student edition
January 12, 2018 9:51 AM   Subscribe

I'm a new grad student and I was fortunately able to just not work during my first semester of classes while I adjusted to being back in school. However, I do need some cheddar so I applied for a part-time job on campus as a writing tutor in a health sciences department. I got the job and I really, really like it after my first week! But, I was also just approached by a professor about a better paying research assistant position...

I just started my first week in my part-time on-campus gig as a writing tutor. I really like it and I really like the staff that run the program. If this other opportunity hadn't fallen into my lap, I could see myself working this gig for the rest of my grad school program.

The research assistant position isn't 100% a done deal yet (still waiting on the final paperwork to go through), but this job would be working in my field on a super cool project with a really awesome professor for more money.

Assuming I get the other job and my start date is next month is there a gracious way I can quit the writing tutor job? I feel really bad, because I just got trained and the semester has already started which means they'll be short-staffed for a bit after I leave. But, there's just no way I can do both.

Looking for any suggestions for how to graciously quit the other job in a way that will minimize inconvenience for them.
posted by forkisbetter to Work & Money (4 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

You're probably overthinking this. The campus employment ecosystem is structured for transience. Let them know as soon as you're sure, it almost goes without saying that a job in your department is a bigger deal than a tutor job, and be helpful in handing off your existing appointments.
posted by Lyn Never at 9:57 AM on January 12 [3 favorites]