How do I learn to trust my own judgement and be confident in meetings?
January 2, 2018 12:33 AM   Subscribe

I work in finance for a large university. I'm good at my job, confirmed by feedback from my bosses and others. But I lack confidence in meetings. I always want to check, hedge my bets, and feel unsure. I find it very hard to speak. How can I trust my judgement, and be less scared of being wrong? I am working on this with a therapist. She asked me to think about what WOULD make me trust myself, and I'm coming up blank.

My whole life I've dreaded doing The Wrong Thing, and I hate having to give an answer that I'm even slightly unsure of. Triple check, that's my motto. It is thorough, but it's been paralysing and is now a real problem.

For example, I'm in a meeting with a lot of people more senior than me, and I'm asked for my opinion on whether we should increase a budget or whether we can increase our staffing. My bosses always seem comfortable saying 'yes', 'no', or 'I'll get back to you', and always *appear* to have a strong memory for the figures. My answer is always, 'I'll have to check', because I dread being wrong and having to correct myself. I worry that this makes me look like I'm not good enough, and slowing down progress.

If I want to add my thoughts without being invited, in meetings my voice just does not work! I will be half-thinking what I want to say, but it takes so long for me to properly formulate my idea that I can't get it out, and I feel like I've had a 'Mute' button pressed on me with all the fear of being wrong, embarrassment and pressure.

In general, as well, I have a crushing fear of contradicting people, which adds to the pressure I feel.

I am working on this with a therapist. She asked me to think about what WOULD make me trust myself, and I'm coming up blank.

Any advice on getting more confident and being able to form my thoughts better, and get over my fear of sounding stupid and saying the wrong thing?