What recipes should I use on these cuts of venison?
December 29, 2017 5:05 PM   Subscribe

What does Metafilter suggest we do with this deer meat?

My husband's family generously gifted us the following cuts (this is what the packages are labeled; I am not sure whether these are commonly understood terms):

- Backstrap (1.25 lbs)
- Steak (3 lbs)
- Roast (1.25 lbs)

What does Metafilter suggest?

I am an intermediate-to-advanced home cook with plenty of equipment, including a gas range, meat thermometer, and slow cooker. I am experienced with beef, pork, and chicken, but have not done a lot of game meat. I did roast a leg of lamb once and hated it, although I am fine with chunks of lamb in curry and other strongly flavored boneless preparations.

His aunt did recommend soaking/rinsing the meat before cooking it, to mitigate the gaminess, so any additional general tips for venison would also be helpful.
posted by slenderloris to Food & Drink (16 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

Gaminess will depend a lot on what the deer was eating - mast (acorns) = more gamey, grass less so. Soaking overnight in milk will help. The backstrap is the filet minon of cuts - cutting into medallions and breading and cooking like chicken fied steak is hard to beat. Would cook the roast as with beef, but realize venison is much leaner and will tend to toughen/ dry out easily. Adding some beef or pork fat & slow cooking will help.
posted by Pressed Rat at 5:28 PM on December 29, 2017 [1 favorite]

Hunter Gardener Angler Cook's collection of venison recipes. Mmmm, venison souvlaki.
posted by MonkeyToes at 5:41 PM on December 29, 2017 [1 favorite]