You are my bodybuilding consultant
December 23, 2017 9:56 AM   Subscribe

I have been lifting weights for about 5 months now and I want to know if what I am doing is the optimal towards my goals. Below is the upper body part of my workout.

It took me a couple months to arrive this routine. My main goal is gain muscle mass, particularly in my chest and shoulders. These are all done with dumbbells. Each exercise listed is followed by 3 numbers, one for each set, which is the weight in pounds of the dumbbell. The first and second sets are 10 reps, the third set is usually 6-8 reps.

Is this the optimal workout for me? If you think not, what would you change?

Chest Press (30° bench) 22.5/22.5/27.5
Pec Fly (30° bench) 22.5/22.5/27.25
Standing Biceps Curl 25/25/30
Standing Front Raise 25/25/27.5
Tricep Extension 25/25/27.5
Midrow Deltoid Raise 45/55/65
Shoulder Shrugs 70/70/70
posted by falsedmitri to Health & Fitness (7 answers total) 9 users marked this as a favorite

Are the dumbbells all that's available or just a preference? My suggestion would be to incorporate heavy barbell bench press and deadlift with a basic 5x5 and linear progression. It's simple and effective at adding muscle mass.

This is partly a case of "surprise, powerlifter recommends powerlifting!" but after 12 months of powerlifting I had to replace all my dress shirts because they didn't fit my neck and shoulders - even with a lot less of the bodybuilding type accessories than you are already doing.
posted by allegedly at 10:59 AM on December 23, 2017 [3 favorites]

Question: are the weights listed some specific percentage of your max lift?

Like, is 25 lbs 25% of a max lift of 100%?

That's how I've tracked routines - establish a max, lift some percentage of it for a specific time frame (e.g. 8 weeks), re-establish a max, then reset the percentages.