How to improve gender balance at outreach activity for children
December 14, 2017 7:01 AM   Subscribe

My colleague is running a computer science outreach event at a science fair. Any tips on how to increase participation amongst girls?

I am a PhD student in a computer science department in the United Kingdom. My colleague is trying to run an outreach event for 6-14 year olds. The activity teaches python by having participants manipulate objects in a Minecraft instance using code. The event takes place within the context of a science fair where attendees walk around the campus and join in with those activities that interest them.

My colleague finds that an overwhelming number of the participants are boys. His belief is that this is because of a preconception amongst the children that computer oriented activities are for boys.
posted by lovelyzoo to Education (22 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

In the US, some organizations lure kids to their activities by doing advance outreach to Girl Scouts/ Boy Scouts and presenting their activity as one that meets a badge requirement.

Include women in running the activity.

Set up next to an area that attracts more girls.
posted by metasarah at 7:14 AM on December 14, 2017 [15 favorites]

Ideas:
* Maybe change the activity to something that's less stereotypically male than video games? There is some really cool stuff out there that mixes art and textiles with microcontrollers.
* I'm betting that having a woman helping out running the activity would help, but I'd bristle at being asked to do it just because I'm female.
* Can you cheat, and pay a friend's girl to hang out at your table as a peer example that this is a thing for girls too?
posted by Metasyntactic at 7:19 AM on December 14, 2017

Is it, or does it appear to be, a solitary activity? Can it be structured as something that encourages pairs or groups of participants?
posted by rlk at 7:20 AM on December 14, 2017