Need to get my professional act together
December 8, 2017 7:11 AM   Subscribe

I’m a computer engineer with severe social anxiety (shocker). I want to feel like I’m in control of my career!

I’m your typical shy, introverted nerdlinger, though maybe even more painfully shy than you’re imagining. I’ve had bad social anxiety for years, with therapy on and off (currently off until Jan 1st when my insurance kicks in). I take low dose Zoloft for the anxiety. It helps a bit but nothing cures completely.

At work, this is a disaster for me. I work in a big tech company and like my job, except for the parts where I’m dealing with severe anxiety and impostor syndrome at once. This generally happens when I have to speak in front of a group, when I have to talk to someone much more senior than me, or when I need to have any conversation about my career trajectory. I realize these are pressure points for most people but I go out of my way to avoid them, which hurts me professionally. I also have awful impostor syndrome and tend to clam up a lot out of fear of sounding like an idiot. The thing is... tech people don’t exactly discourage the impression that everyone else is an idiot. So my typical thought patterns— they don’t seem to care as much as I think— don’t seem to apply.

Most recently I turned down an opportunity for an “early” promotion by default; basically I would have had to perform under pressure to meet the criteria (think give a technical presentation about something I’m not 100% on to a group of mixed seniority), and I declined to do that, thus declining the opportunity. I’m quite mad at myself over this; it was a particularly bad week for me but I still feel like a coward.