is this even worth it
December 5, 2017 10:48 AM   Subscribe

I'm a re-entry student in a year-long academic program at a large university in NYC. I am being funded for this program through my work. The person who administers this program at the university neglected to inform me that registration for the Spring semester opened on November 13. I never got an email or any other notification from the school regarding this either. Now all of the class sections that mesh with my work schedule are closed. Do I have any recourse? Specifics below - looking for answers from Mefites who are college professors in particular.

The person who administers this program is basically doing the equivalent of shrugging at me over email and suggesting I just wait to enroll in the summer session. My work will only fund this program if I complete it in a year; I risk losing the funding if I take a semester off. (Please assume this is non-negotiable; I know it sucks but I've already asked and it's been answered; I receive a stipend for education that only lasts for a year, use-it-or-lose-it basically.)

I think the school really fucked me over here. I work full time and I'm only on campus once a week for my class; there was no way for me to know that registration had opened without being notified. I've combed through all of my emails and I don't see anything pertaining to Spring registration.

The person who administers the program has suggested I reach out to the professor in the closed class section that would fit my schedule best and inquire as to whether they'd grant me an exception to join their class. College professor Mefites: is this even worth my time to bother to do? What are the odds of a professor of a giant 60-person lecture class giving a shit about my situation and letting me in?

If you think I should give it a shot, how should I word said email in order to get the professor to agree to make an exception for me?