Political change for the collector type?
December 3, 2017 11:51 PM   Subscribe

I dislike protests - less in their value and more in the actually attending them. On the other hand, I love scouring for things of value. Are there any useful political activities which rely on somebody picking up on otherwise obscure laws/rules/exceptions?

I am not a lawyer, and this seems like a pretty lawyer focused question; but obsessing about tiny details seems to be in my nature (hence I ask this). Hence I'd restrict the scope to not needing any particularly arduous professional qualifications (something short could work) but the amount of effort involved otherwise isn't particularly restricted.
posted by solarion to Law & Government (6 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

The first thing that comes to mind is opposition research, the polite term for digging up dirt on the other guys. Things said long ago can be embarrassing. There is a current story about Joy Reid of MSNBC which is an example. Also, for elected officials, votes from long ago can come back to haunt therm, e.g. HRC's vote in the Iraq War resolution.
posted by SemiSalt at 4:20 AM on December 4, 2017

Yep, opposition research for political races. For example, say the other team's candidate used to be a lawyer -- then you go to the courthouse and read every. single. case. he or she ever argued, looking for anything that looks bad. I guess it has the potential to feel a little sleazy. But you also have the potential to bring to light actual morally unacceptable stuff the person has done and thus prevent them from holding office and using that power to do more unacceptable stuff, which I'd argue has definite societal value.
posted by cnidaria at 9:22 AM on December 4, 2017

You also read every news article that's ever mentioned them, their high school newspaper editorials, whatever. It's a lot of detail-oriented reading, research, and sleuthing, which sounds right up your alley.