Changing publication name mid-career as a trans academic?
November 26, 2017 7:01 PM   Subscribe

I'm a middle aged academic working my way through a gender affirmation process. I've been publishing under my given name for a long time, and am trying to work out how (or when) to alter the name I put on publications. Any thoughts on how to do this with minimal fuss would be appreciated!

Imagine my legal name is Alexander Saltbush. I've been publishing under that name for 15 years while informally going by Alex. I've never liked using a nickname as my publication name, so I've always used a formal "Alexander O. Saltbush" when publishing journal articles. To make it easy to index my work, I have a long track record of using exactly this name on every publication and have never varied it.

Over the last 18 months or so I've been dealing with my ongoing gender dysphoria issues, and that's led to a slow but steady gender transition process. As that's unfolded I've been going mostly by Alexa as a nickname, and I'm finding I like it much more than I've ever liked Alex. I've moved a little slower on pronouns for a bunch of reasons (mostly to give my friends and family time to adjust, and especially to give my partner time to work out their own feelings about my gender situation), but as far as I can tell I have a pretty clear personal preference for she/her. To the extent that any gender affirmation can go smoothly, it's going okay I guess!