Gallbladder surgery
November 26, 2017 5:50 PM   Subscribe

Hi all I am having my gallbladder out tommorow and I am totally freaking out right now. I am scared out of my mind. Is this going to be vey oainful? I know they will give me a prescription for pain pills but still.... Any advice? How did it go for y’all?
posted by barexamfreak to Health & Fitness (29 answers total)

I had mine out in 2009. IIRC it took less than 4 hours total to drive to the hospital, have the surgery, wake up in post op recovery, and be driven home again. They gave me a script for Percocet and I took exactly one after I got home. Mild abdominal discomfort for a few days, mostly with movement. The constipation from the anesthesia was honestly the worst part of the whole experience, as I foolishly didn't take any Colace or Miralax until days later.

I can be a highly anxious person, and I am also a nurse so I conjure up all sorts of ridiculous unlikely scenarios to frighten myself further. I sympathize with you, but trust me...it's no big deal. You'll be fine.
posted by little mouth at 6:04 PM on November 26, 2017

I had mine out maybe 5 years ago. Like little mouth, I got pain meds, but only needed the first one. It didn't really hurt. I remember being tired easily for a week afterwards. That was about it. I'm sure everything will go swimmingly!
posted by pangolin party at 6:15 PM on November 26, 2017

Yes, especially laparoscopic surgery is nothing to worry about - you may feel so well that you overexert yourself too soon, and if so could end up with a hernia.
posted by mmiddle at 6:23 PM on November 26, 2017

My gangrenous little bugger came out in emergency surgery that went really well. (Except that I woke up during, but that's another matter. You almost certainly will not!)

I didn't use my pain pump at all, and the nurse even asked me about that.

My shoulder was very sore and uncomfortable due to referred pain related to getting inflating gas in the abdomen. That I did not expect.