National conferences for govt./nonprofit accountants?
November 24, 2017 2:24 PM   Subscribe

Professional development: how do I National Conference? (Public/nonprofit sector accounting edition)

I’ve been tasked with finding a professional development opportunity. It might be a unicorn, but if so, it’s a beige one that poops argyle instead of rainbows.

- National conference for accounting/internal audit professionals
- Preferably focused on the nonprofit/government sectors (USA)
- Occurring after the New Year but before the end of June 2018
- In-person (not a webinar)
- Actually worthwhile (not a glorified resort visit with a few flimsy CPE credits attached)

Further considerations which might be relevant, or not:

- I am not a CPA
- I am a regular accountant by day, at a major research university/med school (this is the job asking me to find a conference to attend). I’ve worked there for 15 months and generally love it; I’ve had a couple raises and a title upgrade in that time, so I’m at an important “prove you can keep growing” stage
- Our very conservative state legislature has some hostility to the university, and the political climate nationwide is somewhat hostile to the medical discipline my department specializes in
- Relevant (?) side-hustle: I am the part-time treasurer of a nonprofit arts organization, a role I’ve held for about 2.5 years
- I also volunteer my time on the budget committees of a few other local nonprofits, one religious and one philanthropic
- I am in a flyover state where most conventions and conferences cater to a very different industry/niche
- I am happy to travel more or less anyplace in the states, but I would prefer to avoid the Bay Area and Las Vegas for Reasons.

...I’m pretty green here, Green. I’ve done the convention thing for some of my nonprofits, but I’ve never done the national conference thing for either of my paid jobs.