improv for diverse humans
October 28, 2017 2:10 PM   Subscribe

I'm looking to improve my taste in improv. Please recommend me some good improv shows, groups, or podcasts, preferably led by underrepresented minorities! (e.g. women, queer people, trans people, and people of color)

I've been doing improv for a few months and would like to hone my taste. I'm reading books like Truth in Comedy but would like to also experience high-quality improv. I live in a city in the US that, while not being a hub of improv, does have some great local theaters, one of which I'm taking classes at—MeMail me for specifics.

As a member of an underrepresented minority myself (I haven't met or heard of any improvisers with my race/gender combo), I would like to support other members of URMs. But if a particular group or set is canonically or transcendentally great, go ahead and recommend it anyway.

In terms of comedy, my tastes tend toward the postmodern, sci-fi, and queer (I'm a fan of ""weird Twitter""). For example, I listened to some of the episodes of "Improv for Humans" that starred Wild Horses. There were some fantastic moments, but on the whole the episodes were overly gross and sexual and weren't to my taste. Same for AS+CAT: loved the sections by Tina Fey and Amy Poehler, but the male performers often tipped over into haha-only-serious sexism. Also, I know one of the occupational hazards of improv is the "lol so random" part but I'm not a huge fan of that.

I'd prefer specific episode recommendations, or DVD/show recommendations, over general group/podcast/people recommendations. I don't have a Netflix or Spotify subscription but am willing to support performers by paying on Amazon, iTunes, Patreon, and so on.
posted by icosahedron to Media & Arts (5 answers total) 12 users marked this as a favorite