Books for expecting moms
October 28, 2017 11:33 AM   Subscribe

I am newly pregnant with a much wanted little baby. I am looking for decent pregnancy books that are not stupid. I am a skeptical nurse-person with just enough knowledge of the knitty-gritty of pregnancy to be annoying to actual doctors/OBs and and self-destructive to myself.

I hated hated hated What to Expect. Too much scaremongering with no context.

I have been pregnant before and was very laisez-faire with seeking out pregnancy info. Unfortunately, my pregnancy ended in a miscarriage and I am very very hesitant to get invested in this little bean but I want to get excited and get a book to hype me up.
posted by pintapicasso to Health & Fitness (10 answers total) 19 users marked this as a favorite

Expecting Better by Emily Oster is really really fantastic. It's the only pregnancy book I ever read cover to cover and it's really level-headed while still having that little "yay" bit you're talking about.
posted by threetwentytwo at 11:48 AM on October 28, 2017 [18 favorites]

I kind of liked Mayo Clinic Guide to a Healthy Pregnancy.
posted by pearshaped at 1:40 PM on October 28, 2017 [3 favorites]

I also liked Expecting Better - lots of good information on what you should stick to the letter of the rule on (and why she thinks that) and what are guidelines that maybe don't have much science behind them.
posted by brilliantine at 2:45 PM on October 28, 2017 [4 favorites]

Get yourself an out-of-print copy of Ever Since Eve: Personal Reflections on Childbirth, by Nancy Caldwell Sorel.
It is a collection of essays, stories, interviews and poetry on pregnancy and childbirth. I like it because it covers so many aspects of it -- wanting, not wanting, loss, barrenness, twins, easy birthing, hard births, frontier births, caring, cuddling, frustrations, etc.
You can pick it up and read short bits at a time, focus on topics that interest you, or read it from cover to cover.