What should I know about serving on a nonprofit board?
September 27, 2017 4:30 PM   Subscribe

I've been asked by a fairly close friend (though not someone I spend time with regularly; more of an old/longtime friend) to serve on the board of his nonprofit. Help me make the decision.

Let me start by saying that I fully support the organization and trust my friend as a great leader. But this feels like a big commitment and I'm not sure how to be fully informed about the decision.

The organization is large, very functional nonprofit that provides a service in an industry in which I have no professional experience. (For the sake of anonymity, imagine something on the scale of a city-wide youth and family services organization. It's actual a different industry, but same idea and scope... many employees, several sites, underserved clients.) It's been around for a while and grew out of another organization that has been around even longer. I agree with, and fully support, their mission and vision and want to see the organization grow even more.

Reasons I want to serve:
- I support the organization. I think I would bring a valuable perspective to their governance.
- I have dreams of starting an organization in the future that would require a board, so it would be good experience and I could make good social contacts too.

I guess my main hesitations are:

- I literally know NOTHING about board governance or even business operations. I work in a different service industry and have never worked in a standard office type setting so I feel inexperienced in the ways of large businesses/organizations. This is a huge, multi-tens-of-millions-budget organization - I feel like I don't know enough to help guide something this big. I would also probably be the youngest person on the board.