Cracking the Code on Budgeting
September 20, 2017 12:17 PM   Subscribe

I'm an independent contractor who is struggling to get a grip on my money. I struggle with coding my bank transactions in a timely way, coding transactions from different sources (PayPal/Amazon/checks), and having to code transactions repeatedly in different applications (Mint/Quickbooks SE/YNAB).

I want to know how much I make and what I spend it on each month, to start budgeting to achieve my goals, and to have the process of filing my taxes be less effortful than it is now.

What I think I want is a single program that will let me code all my transactions ONCE on my phone as they come in, to see budget reminders on my phone when I'm approaching or exceeding budget limits, and to generate weekly and monthly income and spending reports. Why is this so hard?

Right now I'm using Mint to categorize transactions, which is a laborious process that I am always, always behind in.

This task involves looking up and individually categorizing checks, PayPal transactions, and Amazon payments, each of which has its own special laborious workflow. Mint's UI is not particularly sophisticated, though the Mojito Chrome extension at least lets me filter transactions by date.

At the end of the tax year, I go through a huge grind to catch up with categorizing several months worth of back transactions.

Once I've worked through the backlog and have the totals for tax-related categories like business expenses and other deductibles, I use them to file my taxes using TurboTax. The actual tax filing process is pretty easy—it's the task of coding back transactions that makes it such a pain.

I tried to use YNAB, but I felt like I was always trying to catch up with my back transactions rather than actually budgeting. This was exacerbated by having to code all my transactions AGAIN in YNAB, since my Mint categories don't transfer to YNAB.