Socially withdrawn during grad school
September 4, 2017 3:56 AM   Subscribe

I feel bad about not having made any friends during grad school, because I was dealing with multiple stressors at the time.

Grad school was the most difficult time of my life. I was isolated from my family and friends (different region of the country), recovering from a sexual assault / pursuing legal matters related to the assault, still trying to get through my demanding program, land a job, win scholarships, multiple health issues, death of a close friend... honestly, I don't even really remember most of grad school; it was just a huge blur and I wanted to survive. I made it out-- I graduated on time, and found a highly desirable position in a place that is closer to my family and college friends. Yay.