Let's give this another try, or how can I forget bad first impressions?
September 1, 2017 10:18 PM   Subscribe

I'm starting a professional course-based grad program this fall and my cohort had the opportunity to meet each other for the first time this week. I can't put my finger on it, but I am already disliking these people. I don't want to spend the next two-years disliking these people, so how can I forget first impressions and meet them "again" for the "first time" when our courses start?

Maybe the problem is me and I don't belong in my grad program. Maybe I'm just experiencing pre-grad school nerves. I don't know. I'm in my late-20s and most students are in their early 20s with newly minted BAs. Moreover, I've been working in the field we're "in" for a few years already. Perhaps, I've been away from "academia" for too long and working in a touchy feely environment. I was just taken aback by the (unearned) arrogance, abrasiveness and general snobbery of my cohort. I wasn't expecting to make any BFFs on the first day, but I was NOT expecting that!!!!!!!

I guess I could just spend the next two years doing my courses and getting the hell out of there for the next two-years, but I'd actually like to figure out a way to get along with them. I know this isn't a program to make friends, but I don't want to be rude!!! I don't want to DREAD going to my courses. How do I get along with these people for the next two years? Is it okay if I just don't "click" with my cohort?
posted by anonymous to Education (12 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Is it okay if I just don't "click" with my cohort?
Oh yes. Totally OK. I have just finished a professional course-based post-grad and I didn't make one friend over my two years.

I think the problem is a combination of pre-grad school nerves and unmet expectations. Perhaps drop any expectation that you should have friends in the program, which will mean you won't be disappointed if you don't.