Try Before You Buy Engineering
August 22, 2017 3:53 PM   Subscribe

I'm an electrical engineer currently in the market for a new job. A smaller company I just interviewed at for a full-time position asked if I'd be willing to do a small project on a freelance basis. I've been out of the market for about 10 years is this the New Normal?

With the exception of the job I just left, I've worked in fortune 100 companies my whole life and have never heard of this happening. I told the company that I'd be willing to do it, but with the stipulation that it was a step towards full-time, salaried employment. My web-dev brother assures me that this is extremely common now.

Engineering professionals of MeFi, Is this common now and should I have said no?
posted by Dr. Twist to Work & Money (16 answers total)

Are they paying you for the freelance work?
posted by une_heure_pleine at 3:58 PM on August 22, 2017 [1 favorite]

Uhhh no? Maybe if your resume didn't really fit their requirements, or if it was a start up or in financially tight times. Maybe they really only want temporary help. But I'm an EE manager (hardware) and we hire full time. If you don't want it, don't take it. It's not "how it is now."
posted by St. Peepsburg at 4:11 PM on August 22, 2017 [1 favorite]

To be clear, it's actual, paying work at market rate.
posted by Dr. Twist at 4:24 PM on August 22, 2017

If they're paying you for the freelance work, then that isn't terribly uncommon.

If they expect you to do a small project for free to "try you out", which some companies seem to have the nerve to expect these days, feel free to decline.
posted by Autumnheart at 4:25 PM on August 22, 2017

It's a trendy thing in IT and ideas cross pollinate into engineering from there.
posted by Candleman at 4:26 PM on August 22, 2017