Why can't I write a Google restaurant review?
August 16, 2017 7:34 AM   Subscribe

I had an unpleasant experience with a restaurant and want to share that with others. I think the most effective place to share is on Google reviews, where it's associated with the address/store hours/etc and also not associated with scammy Yelp tactics. I have written Google reviews before without issue. This time, every time I try to click on various write-a-review links (I tried them from every spot) it doesn't do anything.

I disabled all extensions, I opened up an incognito window, I tried both Chrome and Firefox and nada, I can't write a review. Most of the time clicking does absolutely nothing. From within the reading-all-reviews and then writing-a-review process, the screen seems to refresh or something but still no review option. I tried clicking on the add-a-photo button just to see if everything was borked, and that did work immediately. But I don't want to add a photo, I want to write a review.

Why is this? The restaurant currently has 528 reviews - is that a magic cap number?
posted by vegartanipla to Computers & Internet (9 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite
 
Are you logged in to your Google account? (Not a glib question - sometimes I've noticed I've gotten spontaneously logged out without noticing it.)
posted by EmpressCallipygos at 7:59 AM on August 16, 2017


Yes, I am logged in.
posted by vegartanipla at 8:11 AM on August 16, 2017


Are you currently able to leave Google reviews for other places? That will help identify the breadth of the problem.
posted by schroedingersgirl at 8:15 AM on August 16, 2017 [1 favorite]


500+ reviews on Google reviews seems like a lot. Maybe they've locked down the ability to review that business due to suspicious activity.
posted by COD at 8:25 AM on August 16, 2017 [1 favorite]


Just tried it, and I am currently unable to leave Google reviews for the two other local restaurants that I tested. My last Google review was posted three weeks ago or so for a restaurant in Madrid, Spain. I cannot currently leave a review for a Spanish retaurant, either, as I just tried that too.
posted by vegartanipla at 8:47 AM on August 16, 2017


I'm seeing the same problem so it's not just you.
(Hopefully this is a data point that helps lead to a true answer)
posted by kidbritish at 8:52 AM on August 16, 2017 [1 favorite]


I have good reason to suspect it's not user error and that someone just pushed bad code / configuration. It will probably be fixed posthaste.
posted by batter_my_heart at 9:59 AM on August 16, 2017


Confirming that this is currently broken for me too.
posted by Betelgeuse at 10:47 AM on August 16, 2017 [1 favorite]


It was good to know it wasn't just a me problem. I just rechecked and they fixed the issue. I was able to leave a review. Thanks!
posted by vegartanipla at 8:17 PM on August 16, 2017


« Older What's the name of the kind of con game that...   |   Question about the tearing down of Confederate... Newer »
This thread is closed to new comments.