YANMA (you are not my accountant), but...
August 14, 2017 11:46 PM   Subscribe

I'm a freelancer/independent contractor, and a dual U.S./Canadian citizen. I now make money from clients in both countries, deposited to bank accounts in both countries. How the heck should I approach taxes? Snowflakes inside.

In previous years my freelance clients have all been in the same country as me, wherever I was living at the time. This year I've taken on clients from both countries. My primary country of residence is the U.S. but I still maintain a Canadian mailing address and make regular trips to Canada. To make things more complicated, my Canadian client mails Canadian cheques to my U.S. address, which I deposit electronically to my Canadian bank account--I then convert and transfer the funds. Yes, this would obviously be easier if I were simply dealing with them in terms of U.S. funds deposited directly to my U.S. account; I'm working on it.

I wasn't an accounting whiz to begin with, and am really confused now. Would the best course of action be to file taxes in each country for monies earned in that country? Is it time to see a real accountant? And what if I don't make enough this year to justify that expense?

Thanks for any advice you can give on this extremely boring and frustrating topic.
posted by Miss T.Horn to Work & Money (7 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Accountant, now. I freelance without the international issue and I would never dream of attempting to figure this out on my own. If you screw this up now and no one notices until down the line... think of what your liability would be then. In not one but two countries.

My accountant ALWAYS saves me way more money than their fee, you can afford it.
posted by bradbane at 1:02 AM on August 15, 2017 [4 favorites]

Recommending Brass Taxes Accountants here, I'm a freelancer and they're Accountants/creative professionals so they understand my concerns more than most traditional accountants.