Moving to Montréal - short and long term accommodation advice needed.
August 4, 2017 3:29 PM   Subscribe

I am moving to Montréal at the end of this month. I work in IT and am arriving without employment but I have money in the bank to survive without income for awhile. Of course my intent is find a job immediately, if not before I arrive, but i do have some spending leeway that I don't wish to use foolishly. One last important detail is that I will be arriving with a cat. I would greatly appreciate advice on finding a place to stay at first that will take a cat, and tips on getting more permanant lodging.

I consider myself very much a city person, and I've been to Montréal a couple times. I will be arriving without a car, and so I would prefer a central location with good access to transit. If that is not available then simply somewhere with access to transit so I can get around the city at first. I am obviously anglo and don't speak French, but I am taking lessons and would happily live in a primarily French neighbourhood for the exposure, as long as the locals wouldn't be too mean to me about my poor French.

Regarding temporary lodgings for my arrival: I figured the best approach is get something temporary initially lined up where I can enjoy the city with my cat until I can secure a proper lease for a place. I don't really mean I'll be dragging the cat anywhere, it's just that I need to find a place to stay that will allow me to keep her there so I don't shove her in some kind of pet hotel.