Networking Basics: Where to find educational resources?
July 11, 2017 3:49 PM   Subscribe

My wife is in the information security field, but not on the technical side. She's more in a project management/governance role, but the scope of her role is increasing more and more. She wants to learn the basics of networking and the technical side of network security and information security. I know about the books from when I was in school (I'm an IT professional), but she has a hard time understanding even the analogies I try to come up with. My assumption is that there are better resources that I can't seem to find.

Right now, she's studying for the CompTIA Security+. Anything geared to the basics of networking that would help her with this exam would be ideal. She is going through firewalls, packets, networking basics in general and she needs more help than I can give. Save us, Metafilter!

Extra points to the technical basics of other related fields that she can digest.
posted by MMALR to Computers & Internet (6 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

I don't know if it's too dated in terms of the latest tech, but Secrets and Lies: Digital Security in a Networked World by Bruce Schneier is a go-to for how to think about computer network security; he purposely wrote it in part to try and correct for the high level of mathematical abstraction he had used in a previous book that didn't take the context of human and computer fallibility into account.
posted by Wretch729 at 4:36 PM on July 11, 2017

I haven't watched it, but I noticed that lynda.com has Become a CompTIA Security+ Certified Security Professional (along with other networking courses). Might be worth the membership, or you may be able to get free access via your library.

Again, I haven't read it, but the "Dummies" books usually have a friendly approach to technical topics. There are a couple of networking books, e.g. Networking All-in-One For Dummies (gets decent reviews on amazon).