safe to eat: expired bacon
June 25, 2017 2:11 PM   Subscribe

I have some Sugardale bacon that has been stored in the freezer until today. It's best if used by date is September 2016. I was planning to thaw it and cook it for a recipe but then wondered if it's safe to consume.
posted by MeFiMouse to Food & Drink (14 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

ETA its use by date was 9 months ago
posted by MeFiMouse at 2:13 PM on June 25, 2017

If it was frozen, I would cook it and eat it in a heartbeat. My general rule of thumb is that freezing something adds about a year to the good by date. I am not an expert in food hygiene, just a guy with a practical sense and a tough stomach.
posted by AugustWest at 2:15 PM on June 25, 2017 [4 favorites]

If it was frozen promptly after being acquired and kept solid until today and thawed properly in the fridge today, I'd eat it. But I wouldn't feed it to anyone else -- even if there aren't yuckies in there, it's probably going to suck just from being frozen for so long.
posted by Night_owl at 2:15 PM on June 25, 2017 [1 favorite]

It's fine to eat.
posted by .kobayashi. at 2:17 PM on June 25, 2017

If the bacon wasn't frozen when you bought it, the use by date would be for the refrigerator only. Freezing isn't part of the calculation. You can freeze bacon for up to eight months and it should still be just about edible. I'd give the thawed bacon a sniff, and then maybe fry an inch and try it. If it smells/tastes off, don't cook with it.
posted by pipeski at 2:18 PM on June 25, 2017 [3 favorites]

I just did a similar thing, and it was fine. My bacon specifically said "use or freeze by X date", but I assume most bacon is the same.
posted by ktkt at 2:44 PM on June 25, 2017 [1 favorite]