What makes your previous generations funny?
April 4, 2017 1:59 PM   Subscribe

I'm curious about humorous stereotypes about older generations, outside of the US and the UK. A bit more information is inside.

My curiosity was prompted by rewatching some British sketch comedy: mainly Fry & Laurie and some Mitchell & Webb. In both of these shows, older generations (especially post-war) are often portrayed as stuffy, puritan, and manners-obsessed, with a dash of being blase about the terrible. It's a really strong stereotype - strong enough that it can be used as a basis for a joke and people will immediately get it.

Which made me wonder, what kinds of stereotypes about previous generations exist outside of the US and the UK? For example, if I were a Japanese writer working on a comedy sketch that had a post-war character, would there be any stereotypical traits I'd be likely to use? What if I was a French writer? An Indian writer?

I realize now both of my examples are post-WWII, but I'm not actually asking about that generation only (it's just a particularly salient one and easy to make reference to). If your country has particularly strong stereotypes about people who were adults in the 80s, that would also be relevant.
posted by Kutsuwamushi to Society & Culture (3 answers total) 8 users marked this as a favorite

Strange that this hasn't gotten any answers yet, but I'll go...

East Asians don't typically try to cast a humorous light on the older generation, due to the concept of filial piety discouraging anything that might be seen as making fun of your elders. But where there are stereotypes of older people, they tend to be very frugal - repairing and reusing things long after most people would have given up on them. They're also often loquacious, often depicted as talking your ear off, sometimes in a naggy way, sometimes in a "in my day" kind of way, sometimes just talking about any random thing. And lastly, they are often shown as superstitious.